Finding the Lost Faces of MGM

Hi guys! I don’t even want to think about how long it has been since I last posted here. My, how things have changed! I’m now 19 years old and a first year Undergraduate Film Studies student at the University of Warwick. Today I had an epiphany.

I’ve been thinking recently about how I can best carry forward the legacy of those from the golden age of Hollywood. After all, they were some of the people that paved the way for me to be working towards my chosen degree. I know that the legacies of some of the periods most famous are in safe hands, but what about the legacies of those who made sure that the studios ran like clockwork?

This question is what caused my epiphany. I have decided that I’m going to make a documentary video that tells the stories of those members of the MGM cohort that we know less well. I’ve decided to focus on just one studio in order to make the process easier (I’ve never done anything like this before)!

I’ll be on the hunt for stories from family members of people who worked at MGM (and perhaps the people themselves) during the golden age in jobs such as cleaner, dresser, caterer etc. I’m starting to build connections within the industry and there are many Facebook groups that may contain the people I want to speak to.

MGM always made the claim that they had ‘more stars than there are in the heavens’. Surely these people are stars too? After all, nothing would have been possible without them!

Stay tuned for updates!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.